The D.C. Council has passed legislation banning the sale, possession or distribution of synthetic drugs.

The Synthetic Drug Abuse Prevention Act is part of the FDA Safety and Innovation Act of 2012, signed into law by President Obama. The law permanently places 26 types of synthetic drugs into Schedule I of the Controlled Substances Act. The Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) has deemed it illegal to sell, buy, or possess synthetic drugs because it contains Schedule I controlled substances.

States across the county continue to pass new laws in response to the numerous violent incidents and deaths blamed on synthetic drugs.